Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Die Website kann auf diesem Browser nicht fehlerfrei angezeigt werden. Bitte aktualisieren Sie um den vollen Funktionsumfang zu beützen.

Monographs and conference proceedings

"Extra Seriem" presents monographs on topics related to the Latin patristic period and conference proceedings, i.e. studies which have resulted from work on the CSEL editions. Since 2012 the volumes have been published by De Gruyter, Berlin; formerly they were published by the Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (Sitzungsberichte der ÖAW).


  • Fortunatianus Aquileiensis, Commentary on the Gospels, English translation and introduction by H.A.G. Houghton. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2017
    In 2012, Lukas Dorfbauer identified a manuscript in Cologne Cathedral Library as a copy of the Commentary on the Gospels by Fortunatianus, bishop of Aquileia in the middle of the fourth century. This discovery enabled him to identify further witnesses to the commentary and works dependent on it. Dorfbauer's critical edition (CSEL 103) makes this work available to scholarship for the first time in over a millennium. The discovery of a new work from late antiquity is always a landmark in the history of research. This extensive commentary shines new light on fourth-century biblical interpretation and the exegetical practices and literary work of an African bishop ministering in north Italy in this period. What is more, it appears to be dependent on works by Origen and Victorinus of Poetovio which are no longer preserved. In order to make this important work available to a wider audience, Dr Houghton has prepared an English translation and introduction in conjunction with the COMPAUL project on the earliest commentaries on the New Testament as sources for the biblical text.
  • Fortunatianus redivivus. Bischof Fortunatian von Aquileia und sein Evangelienkommentar, ed. by Lukas J. Dorfbauer, with Victoria Zimmerl-Panagl. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2017.
    This volume includes papers presented at the September 2015 international conference in Salzburg entitled "Forunatianus Redivivus," which focused on the commentary on the gospels by Bishop Forunatianus of Aquileia, first discovered in 2012. To supplement the first edition (CSEL 103), these papers examine this major "new" text, so extraordinarily important for patristics, from the perspectives of philology, theology, and historiography.
  • Elisabeth Birnbaum, Der Koheletkommentar des Hieronymus. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2014.
    With his Commentary on Ecclesiastes, Hieronymus became the most influential interpreter of this Biblical book until the early modern era. For the first time, this volume offers a German translation and continuous commentary on Hieronymus's interpretations from the perspective of biblical scholarship. An extensive introduction to the topic and a revised Latin text complete the volume.  
  • Edition und Erforschung lateinischer patristischer Texte. 150 Jahre CSEL, hrsg. von Victoria Zimmerl-Panagl - Lukas Dorfbauer - Clemens Weidmann. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2014.
    This compendium compiles the latest research findings on the patristic literature of Late Antiquity, including questions surrounding editorial methods and interpretive approaches, and also presents a previously unpublished and lost tractate from Late Antiquity. It contains essays on Tertullian, Fortunatianus of Aquileia, Ambrosius, Prudentius, Augustine, Hieronymus, Eucherius, Gregor of Nazianzus, as well as monastic texts.
  • Ludwig Fladerer, Augustinus als Exeget. Zu seinen Kommentaren des Galaterbriefes und der Genesis. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2010.
    This volume provides a contribution to our understanding of Augustine's exegetical techniques in his three commentaries on the biblical account of the Creation. The focus of the investigation is a philological one. The first section sets Augustine´s methods of interpretation in the historical context of contemporary Christian commentary. Since there are no important surviving Latin commentaries on the book of Genesis from the time of Augustine, the first step is a comparative analysis of extant commentaries of the Galatians (by Marius Victorinus, Jerome, Ambrosiaster, Augustine) in order to discern, measure und evaluate differences and similarities in interpretation. These interconnections cast light on Augustine's methods of commenting on sacred texts. The focus here is on the different ways in which the word of the Bible can be interwoven with the text of its commentator. These results serve as a useful guide to the main section of the book, which focuses on a careful consideration of grammatical issues in the commentaries on the account of the Creation, including various topics such as semantics, the correctness of language and rhetoric. By exploring these exegetical works it has become evident that the practical techniques are intimately connected with Augustine's hermeneutics, later systematised in his De doctrina Christiana. Thus, his theory of signification is preceded in writings with practical aims. Augustine´s explanation of the Creation is so deeply influenced by his pastoral purpose that he often goes beyond the scope of the traditional form of commentary. The Holy Scripture presents a multiple system of signs, whose meaning can be enriched and increased by the faithful reader.
  • Michael Margoni-Kögler, Die Perikopen im Gottesdienst bei Augustinus. Ein Beitrag zur Erforschung der liturgischen Schriftlesung in der frühen Kirche. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2010.
    In view of only poorly preserved primary liturgical sources (e.g. "lectionaries" or simple listings of scriptural readings) of the final period of late antiquity, liturgical-historical research depends almost exclusively on the evaluation of homiletic testimonials. Concerning the North African area they are represented primarily by St. Augustine's sermons, most of them containing direct or indirect references to one or more of their immediately preceding biblical lessons. Being based on a consciously reflected methodology and making use of elaborated electronic possibilities for systematic research, this study aims at an evaluation of those references carried out for the entire homiletic work of St. Augustine recorded up to now, thereby achieving a considerable enlargement of the hitherto determined spectrum of biblical lessons read in the divine services presided by St. Augustine. The scriptural readings which the analyses prove as secure, (highly) probable or presumable, are questioned with regard to their biblical- and liturgical-theological context as well as to the motivation of their selection. At the same time the proportion between already fixed readings on the one hand and the individual possibility of their choice by the bishop in relation to the specific period of the liturgical year on the other hand is shown. The results are finally placed within the broader framework of comparative liturgical research, thus enlarging the base for further investigation into the rather obscure relations of the North African liturgy to other liturgical families and contributing to a better knowledge of the largely unsettled prerequisites of fixed lectionary systems from the early Middle Ages onwards.
  • Text und Bild. Tagungsbeiträge, hrsg. von Victoria Zimmerl-Panagl - Dorothea Weber. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2010.
    The volume presents papers read at the international Symposium "Text und Bild" which was held at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (April 2-4, 2009). This Symposium was organised by the Commission for Editing the Corpus of the Latin Church Fathers (CSEL) and the Institute for the Study of Ancient Culture (IKAnt) at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, and by the Institute for Classical Philology, Medieval and Neo-Latin Studies at Vienna University. Part of the articles analyses various kinds of visualisation which Prudentius in his poems implies, describes, or evokes; the authors discuss, for example, in which respects philological and archaeological studies on Prudentius can complement each other, if Prudentius intended, that the reader of his Dittochaeon should look at 'real' pictures or just envisage 'imagined' ones, and in which way one can transfer the mutual penetration of descriptions and interpretations of pictures as given in the Dittochaeon to other passages of Prudentius' Ouvre containing visualisations. Furthermore, in order to shed light on characteristics and on the poetical forte of Prudentius in general, some articles concentrate on his other poems and their genuine problems or examine poetic techniques of visualisation applied by authors of roughly the same time. Additionally, a number of articles supply the reader with information about the literary tradition of visualisation Prudentius could build on and with an insight into medieval poetic 'Tituli'. Finally, the volume is rounded off by interdisciplinary studies dealing with the issue from the viewpoint of History of Arts and Theology or patristic Philology and Music, respectively.
  • Collatio Augustini Cum Pascentio. Einleitung, Text, Übersetzung. Mit Beiträgen von H. C. Brennecke, H. Reichert und K. Vössing, hrsg. von Hildegund Müller - Dorothea Weber - Clemens Weidmann. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2008.
    This volume is the result of the international postgraduate workshop "Editing Latin Patristic Texts", organized by the Kirchenväterkommission of the Austrian Academy of Sciences in the summer of 2006. In the course of this workshop, the pseudo-Augustine Collatio cum Pascentio served as an example for carrying out in teamwork the various steps of editing a text such as collating manuscripts, establishing a stemma codicum, constituing the text, compiling a critical apparatus, etc. This is the first critical edition of this text, which was written in Vandal North Africa several decades after Augustine's death (+ 430). It pretends to be a debate between Augustine and the Arian Pascentius concerning questions of Trinity. The comprehensive introduction provides information on the origin and tradition of this text, which is in many ways as interesting as it is problematic, and discusses questions of authenticity, sources and the literary genre. The text has been edited on the basis of all known manuscripts. A translation has been added for a better understanding. Three separate essays, resulting from lectures during the workshop, deal with historic and social aspects of its background as well as with church policy. The language of the Vandals, from which two much discussed words have come down to us in this text, is given attention as well.
  • Gottfried Eugen Kreuz, Pseudo-Hilarius, Metrum in Genesin, Carmen de Evangelio. Einleitung, Text und Kommentar. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2006.
    There has not been done much research on the smaller, mostly pseudonymic biblical poems of late antiquity yet. One of these, the double poem In Genesin – De Evangelio, written by the so-called Pseudo-Hilary, has now been newly edited, thoroughly commented (more or less for the first time, not taking into account the small book of J. Weitz, 1625) with respect to philological and theological questions, including a translation of the text, which is inserted piece by piece into the commentary, and has thus been made accessible for modern readers. The extensive introduction contains a discussion of the manuscript tradition and printed editions as well as an attempt to define the position of the poem in its theological and literary background (here, the In Genesin-part is of most interest), including date and authorship and some effort to prove the theory of R. Peiper, which has been a remaining desideratum since his vehemently criticized edition of the poem (CSEL 23, 1891), claiming that the two poems are parts of one poetic unity, separated by tradition. Therefore, similarities in usage of language and motives, but especially the subtle polemics against Lucretius, and the fact that the whole double poem can be seen as a liturgical paraphrase that, by some means, anticipates the main principles of medieval tropi, are discussed. Some speculations about the lost final part of De Evangelio, with a side-glance to pieces of contemporary works of arts, complete the author's attempt to reintroduce an underestimated piece of poetry to the horizon of scholarship.
  • Margit Kamptner, Paulinus von Nola, Carmen 18: Text, Einleitung und Kommentar. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2005.
    Paulinus of Nola's collection of the so-called Carmina natalicia is, from its fourth poem (c. 15), devoted to the life and deeds of S. Felix of Nola. Within this metrical biography, c. 18 holds a key position, in so far as it marks the transition from earthly to heavenly existence and miraculous powers of the Saint: In two parts of more or less equal length, Paulinus first focuses on Felix's funeral and heavenly ascent, then recounts an exemplary miracle performed by the saint after his death. The commentary presents a detailed analysis of the poem on linguistic, stylistic, poetic and literary historic matters, the main concern being as follows: Paulinus' use of classical, biblical and patristic sources and models as well as his adaptation of the traditional literary genres. Then, there is emphasis on the interpretation of the poem as a whole, its unity and its position within the context of the collection of "birthday poems".
  • Textsorten und Textkritik, hrsg. von Adolf Primmer - Kurt Smolak - Dorothea Weber. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2002.
    It is a demanding task to edit a Latin text of the patristic era according to strictly scholarly philological methods: besides theological, linguistic and paleographic skills the editor has to take into account the specific genre to which the text to be edited belongs. This complex situation becomes even more evident when one considers the different criteria by which the manuscript tradition of different texts must be judged. On the one hand, there are pieces of very high literary pretension handed down in many manuscripts, as it is the case with most of the Christian artistic poetry of the 4th and the 5th century. On the other hand, we have sermons like those of Augustine, which were preached to an audience of simple people. These sermons were at times delivered ex tempore, but were still well structured; their texts were taken down in shorthand and are preserved in even more manuscripts. The present volume contains fourteen articles in which philologists, theologians and church historians deal with the topic indicated in the title. The articles are based on papers given in February 2001 at an international meeting that was organised by the 'Kirchenväterkommission' of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. By discussing examples of their editing work, which is being done mainly for the CSEL, the contributors demonstrate how diverse the difficulties are with which they have to cope. Since the problems involved with different genres of texts and textual criticism belong to the basic ones of every philology that has to do with producing a critical edition, the volume will be of interest to others besides for scholars in Latin and patristics.
  • Clemens Weidmann, Augustinus und das Maximinianistenkonzil von Cebarsussi. Zur historischen und textgeschichtlichen Bedeutung von Enarratio in psalmum 36, 2, 18-23. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1998.
    We owe to the controversy between the Catholics and Donatists in North Africa a document which permits not merely valuable insights into the organization of the Donatist church, but also interesting philological observations on the manuscript tradition of Augustine's Enarrationes in psalmos. In the context of his exegesis of Psalm 36 Augustine cites the letter of the Council of Cebarsussi (June 24, 393), in which approximately 100 Donatist bishops condemn their primate, Primian of Carthage and opt for the party of his opponent, Maximian. The document ends with a list of signatures containing more than fifty names. -- Through a careful examination of the manuscripts which contain the Enarratio in psalmum 36 and through a comparison with other documents which offer no textual problems, many new pieces of historical information, especially the names of the bishops and of their sees, have been acquired. Since the text of the letter does not properly belong to the exegesis of the psalm and has remained unaffected by manuscript contamination, it is possible to use it to identify different ways in which errors were introduced and to recognize particular characteristics of the individual manuscripts of the Enarrationes in psalmos.
  • Hildegund Müller, Eine Psalmenpredigt über die Auferstehung. Augustinus, Enarratio in psalmum 65. Einleitung, Text, Übersetzung und Kommentar. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1997.
    A sample edition of a single sermon by Augustine on a Psalm, as a part of the entire critical edition of St. Augustine's Enarrationes in psalmos being prepared for the CSEL. Augustine interprets Psalm 65 (66) as a hymn on the resurrection, a concept whose various levels of meaning he developed in an artistically structured and rhetorically polished sermon. The new edition tries to do justice to this complex text by a carefully determining, correcting, and punctuating the Latin text. An introduction which deals with the dating and the place where the sermon was given, the manuscript tradition--which has now for the first time been studied almost completely--and the literary interpretation of the sermon, accompanies the text. A German translation and an extensive commentary on textual problems offer justification for the editor's choice of variant readings and conjectures.
  • Kurt Smolak, Das Gedicht des Bischofs Agrestius. Eine theologische Lehrepistel aus der Spätantike. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1973.
  • Franz Weissengruber, Epiphanius Scholasticus als Übersetzer. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1972.

Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Die Website kann auf diesem Browser nicht fehlerfrei angezeigt werden. Bitte aktualisieren Sie um den vollen Funktionsumfang zu beützen.


  • Fortunatianus redivivus. Bischof Fortunatian von Aquileia und sein Evangelienkommentar, hrsg. von Lukas J. Dorfbauer unter Mitarbeit von Victoria Zimmerl-Panagl. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2017.
    Der vorliegende Band umfasst Beiträge der internationalen Tagung "Fortunatianus redivivus" (September 2015, Salzburg), in deren Zentrum der 2012 entdeckte Evangelienkommentar des Bischofs Fortunatian von Aquileia stand. In Ergänzung zur Erstedition (CSEL 103) erforschen die hier versammelten Arbeiten den für die Patristik eminent wichtigen 'neue' Text aus philologischer, theologischer und historischer Perspektive.
  • Elisabeth Birnbaum, Der Koheletkommentar des Hieronymus. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2014.
    Die Bibelauslegungen der Kirchenväter standen lange Zeit im Schatten ihrer dogmatischen und polemischen Schriften. Die moderne Bibelwissenschaft entdeckt jedoch zunehmend die Notwendigkeit, ihre eigene Tradition kritisch zu analysieren. Dazu ist sie auf die sorgfältige und kompetente Aufarbeitung der exegetischen Tradition angewiesen. Das will der vorliegende Band anhand eines der einflussreichsten patristischen Bibelkommentare leisten, indem er neben einer umfassenden Einführung in die Thematik und einem revidierten lateinischen Text erstmals eine deutsche Übersetzung und eine durchgängige bibelwissenschaftlich fundierte Kommentierung des Werkes bietet. Damit möchte die Publikation zu einer angemessenen Bewertung der hieronymianischen Bibelinterpretation beitragen.  
  • Edition und Erforschung lateinischer patristischer Texte. 150 Jahre CSEL, hrsg. von Victoria Zimmerl-Panagl - Lukas Dorfbauer - Clemens Weidmann. - Berlin: De Gruyter 2014.
    Seit 150 Jahren ist das Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum (CSEL, Universität Salzburg) um die Erforschung und im Besonderen um die Edition lateinischer patristischer Texte der Spätantike bemüht. Der vorliegende Sammelband stellt die Bandbreite philologischer Arbeit, wie sie am CSEL und in dessen Rahmen heute geleistet wird, exemplarisch dar: Er umfasst einerseits Beiträge zu unterschiedlichen Aspekten der Editionstätigkeit des CSEL, die von Fragen zur Methodik des Edierens bis zur Prasentation neuer Ergebnisse zu einem bisher verloren geglaubten spätantiken Evangelienkommentar aus der ersten Hälfte des 4. Jahrhunderts (Fortunatian von Aquileia) reichen. Andererseits werden neue textphilologische, im weitesten Sinn interpretatorische Ansätze zu Fragen der spätantiken patristischen Literatur vorgestellt. Die Artikel beschäftigen sich u.a. mit Tertullian, Fortunatian von Aquileia, Ambrosius, Prudentius, Augustinus, Hieronymus, Eucherius, Gregor von Nazianz und mit monastischen Texten.
  • Ludwig Fladerer, Augustinus als Exeget. Zu seinen Kommentaren des Galaterbriefes und der Genesis. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2010.
    Die vorliegende Monographie untersucht die exegetischen Techniken Augustins in seinen drei Genesiskommentaren und ist primär einer philologischen Fragestellung verpflichtet. Augustinus wird dabei als Grammaticus und Rhetor in den Kontext der zeitgenössischen Textdeutung gerückt, die besonders von der Gattung des Kommentares geprägt war. Durch das Fehlen lateinischer Genesiskommentare im zeitlichen Umfeld des Kirchenvaters muss über den Umweg der reichlich vorhandenen Galaterbriefkommentare (Marius Victorinus, Hieronymus, Ambrosiaster, Augustinus) jenes Vergleichsmaterial gewonnen werden, das die Beurteilung der Spezifika des Kommentators Augustinus ermöglicht. Daher werden im ersten Hauptteil ausgehend von den Galaterbriefkommentaren die jeweiligen Unterschiede in der Interaktion zwischen dem Interpreten und seinem Text herausgearbeitet. Diese Ergebnisse werden im zweiten Teil des Buches auf Augustins Genesiskommentare umgelegt, wobei besonders die Worterklärung, Fragen der Sprachrichtigkeit sowie die Figurenlehre im Vordergrund stehen. Durchgehend von Interesse ist die Art der Implementierung des biblischen Texts in die Auslegungsprosa. All diese Beobachtungen zur grammatischen Exegese und zur Disposition der Kommentare zeigen, dass Augustins hermeneutische Grundschrift De doctrina Christiana als Systematisierung einer bereits vorher am biblischen Schöpfungsbericht praktizierten Exegese verstanden werden kann. Diese unterliegt einer starken Rhetorisierung, die zuweilen zur Aufgabe der Kommentarform zugunsten eines pastoralen Anliegens führt. Die Hl. Schrift selbst stellt ein polyvalentes Zeichensystem dar, dessen Bedeutung vom gläubigen Leser weitergeschrieben werden kann.
  • Michael Margoni-Kögler, Die Perikopen im Gottesdienst bei Augustinus. Ein Beitrag zur Erforschung der liturgischen Schriftlesung in der frühen Kirche. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2010.
    Angesichts der äußerst spärlich erhaltenen liturgischen Primärquellen für biblische Perikopensysteme der ausgehenden Spätantike ist die liturgiehistorische Forschung auf die Auswertung homiletischer Zeugnisse angewiesen. Für den nordafrikanischen Raum sind dies in erster Linie die Predigten des hl. Augustinus, in welchen sich zahlreiche direkte oder indirekte Hinweise auf eine oder mehrere der in der jeweiligen Liturgiefeier unmittelbar vorangegangenen Schriftlesungen finden. Die vorliegende Studie setzt sich zum Ziel, diese Hinweise auf Basis einer bewusst reflektierten Methodologie und unter Nutzung differenzierter Recherchemöglichkeiten für das gesamte bis dato bekannte homiletische Oeuvre Augustins auszuwerten. Die durch Detailanalysen der Texte als sicher, (höchst)wahrscheinlich oder vermutlich erhobenen gottesdienstlichen Schriftlesungen werden in ihrem jeweiligen bibel- und liturgietheologischen Kontext deutlich und auf die ihrer Auswahl zugrundeliegende Motivation hin befragt. Gleichzeitig tritt das Verhältnis zwischen bereits fest verankerten Lesungen einerseits und deren individueller Wahlmöglichkeit durch den Bischof andererseits in Abhängigkeit von der spezifischen Zeit des liturgischen Jahres zutage. Abschließende liturgievergleichende Beobachtungen stellen die Ergebnisse in den breiteren Horizont patristischer Perikopenforschung, um dadurch eine Basis für weitergehende detailliertere Erforschung der vielfach ungeklärten Beziehungen der nordafrikanischen Liturgie zu anderen Liturgiefamilien zu legen und somit etwas mehr Licht in die dunkle Vorgeschichte der seit dem Frühmittelalter nachweisbaren festen Lesesysteme in der Liturgie zu bringen.
  • Text und Bild. Tagungsbeiträge, hrsg. von Victoria Zimmerl-Panagl - Dorothea Weber. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2010.
    Im vorliegenden Band sind Beiträge des internationalen Symposiums "Text und Bild" versammelt, das vom 2. bis zum 4. April 2009 in Wien an der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften von der Kommission zur Herausgabe des Corpus der lateinischen Kirchenväter (CSEL) und vom Institut für Kulturgeschichte der Antike in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Klassische Philologie, Mittel- und Neulatein der Universität Wien abgehalten wurde. Die Beiträge widmen sich u.a. den unterschiedlichen Relationen zwischen der Dichtung des Prudentius einerseits und den in ihr vorausgesetzten, beschriebenen oder evozierten Bildern andererseits; so wurden die Fragen diskutiert, in welchen Bereichen Prudentius-Philologie und Archäologie einander ergänzen, ob im Dittochaeon der Leser zum Betrachten realer oder bloß vorgestellter Bilder angeleitet wird und wie die wechselseitige Durchdringung von Bildbeschreibung und -deutung über die Grenzen der literarischen Genera hinweg für die Interpretation von Passagen anderer Prudentius-Werke, die mit Visualisierungen operieren, fruchtbar gemacht werden kann. Um Leistung und Eigenart des Prudentius besser verorten zu können, wurden ferner einerseits Aspekte seines Gesamtwerks punktuell beleuchtet, andererseits sein kulturelles Umfeld, indem Methoden, Techniken und poetische Intentionen von ,Visualisierung' bei anderen spätantiken lateinischen Autoren untersucht wurden. Ein Rückblick auf die in der Antike grundgelegte literarische Tradition und ein Ausblick auf Tituli des lateinischen Mittelalters runden das Bild ebenso ab wie interdisziplinäre Beiträge, die Kunstgeschichte gemeinsam mit Theologie bzw. patristische Philologie gemeinsam mit Musik ins Auge fassen.
  • Collatio Augustini Cum Pascentio. Einleitung, Text, Übersetzung. Mit Beiträgen von H. C. Brennecke, H. Reichert und K. Vössing, hrsg. von Hildegund Müller - Dorothea Weber - Clemens Weidmann. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2008.
    Der vorliegende Band ist das Ergebnis des internationalen Postgraduate-Workshop "Edieren lateinischer patristischer Texte", den die Kirchenväterkommission der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften im Sommer 2006 abhielt. Im Rahmen dieser Veranstaltung wurden an der pseudo-augustinischen Collatio cum Pascentio als exemplarischem Text editorische Arbeitsschritte (Kollationieren, Stemma, Einzelprobleme der Textkonstitution, Erstellung der Apparate) in Teamwork durchgeführt. Der hier erstmals kritisch edierte Text, der einige Jahrzehnte nach Augustins Tod (430) im vandalischen Nordafrika entstand, gibt sich als Protokoll einer Debatte zwischen Augustinus und dem Arianer Pascentius über trinitätstheologische Fragen. Eine umfangreiche Einleitung informiert über Umstände der Entstehung, Überlieferung, Echtheits-, Quellen- und Genusfragen dieser in vielfacher Hinsicht ebenso interessanten wie problematischen Schrift. Dem auf der Grundlage aller bekannten Handschriften edierte Text ist zur besseren Verständlichkeit eine Übersetzung beigegeben. Drei Einzelbeiträge, hervorgegangen aus Vorträgen im Rahmen des Workshop, behandeln historische, kirchenpolitische und gesellschaftliche Hintergründe sowie Fragen der vandalischen Sprache, aus welcher der Text zwei vieldiskutierte Wörter überliefert.
  • Gottfried Eugen Kreuz, Pseudo-Hilarius, Metrum in Genesin, Carmen de Evangelio. Einleitung, Text und Kommentar. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2006.
    Zu den von der Forschung bislang wenig beachteten Bereichen der Literaturgeschichte zählen die kleineren, meist pseudonym überlieferten Bibeldichtungen der Spätantike. Mit der vorliegenden Publikation wird eines dieser Werke, das Doppelgedicht In Genesin – De Evangelio des sog. Pseudo-Hilarius, auf der Basis eines völlig neu konstituierten Textes erstmals seit dem Teilkommentar von J. Weitz (1625) nach philologischen, aber auch theologischen Gesichtspunkten durchgehend kommentiert und für den modernen Leser, nicht zuletzt auch durch Beigabe einer in Abschnitte unterteilten Übersetzung, erschlossen. Die umfangreiche Einleitung beleuchtet die Überlieferungs- und Editionsgeschichte ebenso wie (hier ist der Abschnitt In Genesin von besonderem Interesse) die theologische und literaturgeschichtliche Positionierung des Textes und versucht überdies den seit der letzten, schon bei ihrem Erscheinen heftig kritisierten Edition (CSEL 23, ed. R. Peiper, 1891) Desiderat gebliebenen Nachweis der Zusammengehörigkeit der beiden versprengten Gedichtteile zu einem einheitlichen Ganzen zu führen: Wesentliche Elemente hierbei sind außer sprachlichen und motivischen Parallelen die in beiden Gedichthälften beobachtbare subtile Polemik gegen Lukrez sowie die Funktion des Doppelgedichtes als Paraphrase der Messliturgie, gleichsam in Vorwegnahme des Prinzips der mittelalterlichen Tropen. Überlegungen zu Inhalt und Umfang des verlorenen Schlusses von De Evangelio, wofür auch Parallelen aus der Kunstgeschichte heranzuziehen sind, runden diesen Kommentar eines bislang unterschätzten Gedichtes ab.
  • Margit Kamptner, Paulinus von Nola, Carmen 18: Text, Einleitung und Kommentar. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2005.
    Paulinus von Nola behandelt in der Reihe der "Carmina natalicia" vom 4. Gedicht an (c. 15 nach der Zählung des gesamten poetischen Oeuvres in CSEL 30) Leben und Wirken des heiligen Felix von Nola. Innerhalb der metrischen Biographie des Heiligen nimmt c. 18, das 6. Gedicht der Carmina natalicia, insofern eine Schlüsselstellung ein, als es den Übergang von der diesseitigen zur jenseitigen Vita des Heiligen markiert: In zwei etwa gleich langen Großabschnitten schildert Paulinus zunächst Begräbnis und Himmelfahrt des Felix, danach ein exemplarisches, von dem Heiligen nach seinem Tod vollbrachtes Wunder. Der vorliegende Kommentar bietet eine detaillierte Analyse des 18. Gedichtes unter sprachlich-stilistischen, inhaltlichen und literarhistorischen Aspekten. Das Hauptaugenmerk gilt der Untersuchung von klassischen, biblischen und patristischen Quellen und Vorbildern des Paulinus sowie dessen Adaptierung von traditionellen literarischen Genera. Einen zweiten Schwerpunkt bildet die Interpretation des Gedichtes in seiner Gesamtheit und in seiner Stellung im Rahmen der Carmina natalicia.
  • Textsorten und Textkritik, hrsg. von Adolf Primmer - Kurt Smolak - Dorothea Weber. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 2002.
    Eine nach streng philologisch-wissenschaftlichen Maßstäben erarbeitete Edition lateinischer patristischer Texte stellt an den Herausgeber hohe Anforderungen. Denn abgesehen von theologischer, linguistischer und paläographischer Kompetenz hat der Editor der speziellen Textsorte Rechnung zu tragen, welcher der zu edierende Text angehört. Besonders klar tritt dieses Problem angesichts der unterschiedlichen Kriterien zu Tage, nach denen die - zumeist reiche - handschriftliche Überlieferung literarisch höchst anspruchsvoller Stücke, wie es ein Großteil der christlichen Kunstdichtung des 4. und 5. Jh. ist, einerseits und jene - noch reichere - der zum Volk gesprochenen, mitunter improvisierten, aber nichtsdestoweniger wohlkomponierten Predigten eines Augustinus andererseits zu bewerten ist, von Texten also, die zunächst nur durch Stenogramm fixiert waren. Der vorliegende Band vereinigt vierzehn Aufsätze von Philologen, Theologen und Kirchenhistorikern zu dem im Titel angeführten Thema. Die Beiträge sind aus Referaten hervorgegangen, die auf einem von der Kirchenväterkommission der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften organisierten, im Februar 2001 veranstalteten internationalen Symposion gehalten wurden. In ihnen wird die Weite der Problematik anhand konkreter Beispiele demonstriert, die sich aus der Herausgebertätigkeit der Beiträger, die zum Großteil mit Editionen für das CSEL befasst sind, ergeben haben. - Da das Problem 'Textsorten und Textkritik' zu den grundsätzlichen jeder Philologie gehört, die es mit kritischem Edieren zu tun hat, ist der vorliegende Band nicht allein für Latinisten und Patristiker von Interesse.
  • Clemens Weidmann, Augustinus und das Maximinianistenkonzil von Cebarsussi. Zur historischen und textgeschichtlichen Bedeutung von Enarratio in psalmum 36, 2, 18-23. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1998.
    Den Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Katholiken und Donatisten in Nordafrika verdanken wir ein Dokument, das nicht nur wertvolle Einblicke in die kirchliche Organisation der Donatisten, sondern auch interessante philologische Beobachtungen zur Überlieferung von Augustins Enarrationes in psalmos gewährt: Im Rahmen der Exegese von Psalm 36 trägt Augustinus das Synodalschreiben von Cebarsussi (24. 6. 393) vor, in dem etwa hundert donatistische Bischöfe ihren Primas, Primian von Karthago, verurteilen und für dessen Gegner, Maximianus, Partei ergreifen; das Dokument wird von einer mehr als fünfzig Namen umfassenden Unterschriftenliste abgeschlossen. – Durch eine sorgfältige Rezension der Handschriften, in welchen Enarratio in psalmum 36 überliefert ist, und durch Vergleiche mit anderen textkritisch gesicherten Dokumenten können zahlreiche neue historische Erkenntnisse, insbesondere zu Namen von Bischöfen und deren Sitzen, gewonnen werden. Da der Text des Schreibens nicht zur eigentlichen Psalmenerklärung gehört und von Handschriftenkontamination verschont blieb, lassen sich mit seiner Hilfe Typen der Fehlergenese identifizieren und Charakteristika der einzelnen Codices der Enarrationes in psalmos erkennen.
  • Hildegund Müller, Eine Psalmenpredigt über die Auferstehung. Augustinus, Enarratio in psalmum 65. Einleitung, Text, Übersetzung und Kommentar. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1997.
    Exemplarische Einzeledition einer Psalmenpredigt Augustins im Rahmen der kritischen Gesamtedition der Enarrationes in psalmos im CSEL. Psalm 65 (66) deutet Augustinus als Lied über die Auferstehung, ein Konzept, dessen Bedeutungsebenen er in einer kunstvoll strukturierten und rhetorisch überlegt gestalteten Predigt entfaltet. Die Neuausgabe versucht, diesem komplexen Text durch sorgfältige Textgestaltung, Emendation und Interpunktion gerecht zu werden. Eine Einleitung zu Datierung und Lokalisierung, handschriftlicher Überlieferung (die für die Neuedition erstmals weitgehend vollständig erfasst wurde) und Gesamtinterpretation begleiten die Textedition; eine Übersetzung sowie ein ausführlicher textkritischer Kommentar rechtfertigen Variantenwahl und Konjekturen.
  • Kurt Smolak, Das Gedicht des Bischofs Agrestius. Eine theologische Lehrepistel aus der Spätantike. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1973.
  • Franz Weissengruber, Epiphanius Scholasticus als Übersetzer. - Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 1972.